Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Public Patrons: A Guide to Services: Moscow

Public Patrons in Moscow

Reference Services

The Law Library is open to the public for legal research purposes. Public patrons can use the library’s public legal databases and ask a Reference Librarian for assistance with their research.

Reference librarians are available as time allows to assist public patrons with their research.  Librarians may request patrons with in-depth or extensive research questions to schedule appointments after an initial consultation.

Reference librarians can help patrons locate traditional law library materials and provide instruction in the use of those materials.  Ask for reference help at the library circulation desk or email lawlib@uidaho.edu with questions.

Other Services to the Public Include:

Law Library Staff are Not Permitted to:

  • Give legal advice, including interpretation and analysis of legal documents
  • Recommend an attorney
  • Read or suggest sections of books, cases, laws or definitions over the phone
  • Fill out forms

Borrowing Books

Public patrons may apply for a library card at the Law Library. They must have identification with their name and address. The card will work at both the Law Library and the Main Library. Circulation periods can be found here.

Other Library Resources

WestlawNext Public Access: The law library has a subscription to WestlawNext for the public with single user access. WestlawNext contains full text access to federal and state court cases, laws and regulations; law reviews, legal periodicals, and encyclopedias; European Union legal documents; and legal guides.

Other Library Databases: The library has an extensive collection of legal databases. Some databases are limited to University of Idaho students, faculty and staff, but most are usable by anyone who is in the building.

Print materials: Any print materials that are circulated are available for public patrons to check out. See Borrowing Books above.

Interlibrary Loan

Public patrons must use their home library (usually their local public library) to request an interlibrary loan.

Hours

The library is open to the public Monday through Friday.

Seating Areas

Public patrons are welcome to use the tables in the library’s reading room on the main floor. There are also designated carrels for public patrons in the southeast corner of the ground floor and one table upstairs on the southeast side of the atrium.  Public patrons are not permitted to use study rooms, including the family room, or student carrels.

Computers, Scanning and Printing Access

There are two public access computers in the Law Library circulation lobby. Patrons can use Microsoft Office to complete personal tasks. Patrons can print from the public access computers to a nearby photocopier for $.10/side. Computers are reset to default status every evening. There is a scanner in the circulation lobby available for public use. Documents can be emailed to the patron’s address, printed ($.10/side), or downloaded to a flash drive, either provided by the patron or purchased from the law library for $5.00.

Cell Phones and Laptops

Phone sounds must be turned off and voice calls are prohibited in the library. Short conversations are allowed in the circulation lobby; for longer calls, patrons must go outside. Patrons may bring and use laptop computers. 

Guest WiFi

Select AirVandalGuest from the WiFi network menu and enter the password (please ask at the Circulation Desk for the guest WiFi password). Next, open a browser and register with your name, email, and phone number. A code will be sent by email or text to confirm your identity. You will then enter the code to access the network. Guests can enjoy internet access until the registration expires at 3 a.m. You will need to re-register each day to access the network, but there is no limit to the number of days you can register.

Building and Campus Resources

There are restrooms located throughout the law school that are open to the public.  Vending machines and a mini mart are located at the main library, across the street from the law library. There are numerous eating locations throughout campus that are open to the public.

Parking

Public patrons can park on campus using either one of the metered spots or by purchasing a temporary parking permit at the Intermodal Transportation Center. More information is available here.