Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Public Patrons: A Guide to Services: Boise

Public Patrons in Boise

Reference Services

Assistance in library resources can be obtained at the reference desk. Reference librarians are available to help locate and use print materials, online resources, and interpret legal citations. The Idaho State Law Library encourages use of the library’s collection by offering out-of-town judges and attorneys telephone, fax, email and mail reference services. Ask for reference help at the library circulation desk or email lawlib@uidaho.edu with questions.

Other Services to the Public Include:

Law Library Staff are Not Permitted to:

  • Give legal advice, including interpretation and analysis of legal documents
  • Recommend an attorney
  • Read or suggest sections of books, cases, laws or definitions over the phone
  • Fill out forms

Borrowing Books

Although primarily a research library, limited lending is available for Idaho judges and attorneys, members of the Idaho State Bar, and University of Idaho law students and faculty.

Other Library Resources

WestlawNext Public Access: The law library has a subscription to WestlawNext for the public with single user access. WestlawNext contains full text access to federal and state court cases, laws and regulations; law reviews, legal periodicals, and encyclopedias; European Union legal documents; and legal guides.

Other Library Databases: The library has an extensive collection of legal databases. Some databases are limited to University of Idaho students, faculty and staff, but most are usable by anyone who is in the building.

Patent and Trademark Resource Center: The Idaho Patent and Trademark Resource Center provides resources and expert staff to assist the public in using search tools to access patent and trademark information.

Print materials: The Law Library does not circulate books to public patrons. See Borrowing Books above for a list of eligible users.

Interlibrary Loan

Public patrons must use their home library (usually their local public library) to request an interlibrary loan.

Hours

The library is open to the public Monday through Friday.

Seating Areas

Public patrons are welcome to use the tables in the library’s reading room on the main floor.   Public patrons are not permitted to use study rooms, or student carrels.

Computers, Scanning and Printing Access

There are several public access computers in the Idaho State Law Library reading room. Patrons can print from the public access computers to nearby photocopiers or use the scanner in the library. Charges are $.15/side. Documents can be emailed from the scanner to the patron’s address or saved to a flash drive.

Cell Phones and Laptops

Phone sounds must be turned off and voice calls are prohibited in the library. Short conversations are allowed in the circulation lobby; for longer calls, patrons must go outside. Patrons may bring and use laptop computers.  Information for the guest WIFI login is at the library circulation desk.

Building 

The Idaho State Law Library is located on the second floor of the Idaho Law and Justice Learning Center (514 W. Jefferson St.) with business hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Parking

There are on-street parking meters; we encourage you to download the ParkMobile app. Three-hour visitor parking spots are also nearby.