Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library catalog can be accessed here.
- It searches print & electronic resources (except Westlaw/Lexis/Bloomberg Law) held by the Law Library & UI Library
- It can be filtered by a variety of criteria, including location & resource type
- Contact Anna Blaine (208-885-2161) for assistance in using the catalog or to receive a tutorial
- To access resources not listed in the catalog, see Resource Sharing
- To recommend a title for Law Library purchase, see Suggest a Title
Stacy Etheredge, Law Library Director
The Law Library's Reserves provide students with access to print & digital textbooks, study aids, exam archives, & class recordings via UI SSO.
- E-Reserves: Discover course materials by course or instructor name:
- Faculty may request class recordings, old course exams, etc. be placed on e-reserve (or removed) by emailing Evan Lantzy. Copyright restrictions apply and student permission is required to post exams.
- To place a physical item on reserve*:
*Barring special circumstances, this is unnecessary for your course's required text; we automatically place those on reserve by policy.
Evan Lantzy, Circulation Supervisor
The Law Library offers access to a variety of electronic databases & resources, many of which are subscription only, e.g. Hein Online, Wall Street Journal.
- If off-campus, you may need to authenticate using your UI credentials
- Some databases are restricted by the license agreement to on-campus use
- See A-Z Databases for an alphabetical listing
- Contact Anna Blaine (208-885-2161) with questions
You can also access a wide variety of research databases through the UI Library, e.g. JSTOR, science & medical databases, other comprehensive scholarly databases, & a variety of newspapers.
All faculty can create Westlaw/Lexis/Bloomberg Law* accounts. Contact Sam Williams (208-364-4554) for authorization codes.
- Technical questions are best addressed to the vendors' support personnel:
- Westaw: 1-800-486-4876
- Lexis: 1-800-455-3947
- Bloomberg Law: 1-888-560-2529
- For assistance conducting research on these platforms, see Research Support
*Bloomberg Law tends to be overlooked but the Law Library highly recommends setting up an account. In addition to extensive primary materials, it also provides access to:
- Exclusive secondary materials (e.g., BNA publications)
- Docket reports that are not as extensive as PACER's but easier to use
Sam Williams, Reference & Instruction Librarian